150th Commemoration of Postcard - New stamp released in PM’s presence

A commemoration stamp to mark the 150th anniversary of Postcard was held in the presence of Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena at the Parliament today (Sept1).
Media Minister Bandula Gunawardena presented the first Commemorative Postcard to the Prime Minister. He also presented the Commemorative Postcards to several Parliamentarians including Chamal Rajapaksa,Muditha Soysa , Dayashan Nawanandana and Yadamini Gunawardena.
The Ordinance to provide for island transmission of postcards was passed in 1871 and the first Postcard was issued on 1st September 1872.
Media Ministry Secretary Anusha Palpita and Post Master General Ranjit Ariyaratne were also present on this occasion.